Testimonials

Testimonials

Testimonials and Reviews

You would like to find out more about previous guests’ experiences before booking your customised Ireland vacation with Desmond Tours?

We strive to create fun-filled memorable experiences for all of our customers and are proud to have created many happy memories for previous guests. Just like one of our past client recently said “You Have a Home and Family with Des in Ireland”, we strive to provide this same wonderful experience for every one of our clients.

We invite you to read the testimonials below, have a look at a fantastic video of the Wild Atlantic Way or check out our reviews on Facebook and TripAdvisor.

P A C
P A C
2022-08-21
To Desmond the Guide and the Republic Cuttin from Dublin to Galway and back in a Mercedes first class A proper breakfast, sprinkles of candy, and oysters in Dingle will cause gas Gaeilge witnessed suffering Claddagh offered buffering We hold dear ever green gratitude in an Irish accent with sass
Brad R
Brad R
2022-08-02
Best Experience Ever, SO glad we used Desmond Tours!!!!!! Had the best time with Desmond Tours!!! Super nice guy, none of us got carsick on Ireland's twisty roads, learned a ton and loved the 24/7 personal professional experience. Great sense of humor as well which made the trip all the better. Wouldn't go to Ireland again without Desmond, we'll be telling our friends who plan to visit to call them up for sure!
Maria S
Maria S
2022-07-18
Family Ireland Trip. Our favorite part of our vacation to Ireland,was Desmond Phelan Tour guide.He was so knowledgeable about his home country. He paid close attention to our interest. His goal was to make it a fun filled time.He accomplished that, and then some! There were 6 of us from my family,we were all thankful.Trip of a life time.
N Hewitt
N Hewitt
2022-07-17
Second visit with Desmond Tours, already looking forward to number 3! This was mine and my daughter's second visit using Des as our guide. We were so excited to introduce him to my mom and cousins. My mom had been dreaming of seeing Ireland for years and Des made her wish come to life! We all thoroughly enjoyed the sites and all the time chatting in the van about all things Ireland and family. We truly feel that Des has become a part of our Italian family and can't wait to get back and see more of his beautiful country!
Samir K
Samir K
2022-07-14
Only way to see Ireland is with Desmond!!! Desmond is very passionate about Ireland…strongly recommend his services. We went to visit Killkenny and it was fantastic!!!
cecilia snyder
cecilia snyder
2022-07-12
First Time Visiting Éire Our family of 9 recently took our first trip to Ireland during which we visited a total of 5 different cities and towns around the island. We initially booked Des to help transport us between each of our stops, but little did we know that he would be so much more than a driver. Des not only ensured that we arrived at each of our destinations in a safe and timely manner, but he also made sure that we experienced as much of Ireland as we possibly could along the way. Des offered an abundant of recommendations for great coffee, delicious meals, where to hear trad music, all of the best book stores and more. He knows Ireland like the back of his hand and is happy to share that knowledge with anyone who is interested. Most importantly, Des provided a relaxed and comfortable environment and did all he could to accommodate our wishes for the trip. I promise you won't regret booking his tour!
Allison
Allison
2022-06-23
5 stars are not enough!! The trip of a lifetime 5 stars are not enough to rate our incredible tour with Desmond! Desmond provided us with the trip of a lifetime. We took a week long tour with Desmond, and Desmond showed us what felt like the “true” Ireland. We did all of the tourist spots, but Desmond also took us to some of his local spots, showed us many hidden gems, and introduced us to some of the loveliest people! There was not one thing that we wanted to do that Desmond didn't make happen, and he fit it all into a daily schedule that worked for us. Desmond seamlessly adjusted our itinerary throughout the week to account for weather and all of our requests, all with a smile on his face, jokes and stories to keep up entertained, and absolutely top-notch service!! I absolutely cannot recommend Desmond enough - his knowledge of Ireland, told together with his own stories of growing up and living on the island, brought the history alive and we can’t wait to come back.
Snorri I
Snorri I
2022-05-16
Great tour of Kilkenny and Dublin with friends A group of eight "lads" in their fifties reunited in a three day tour of Kilkenny and Dublin with Desmond as the guide. The trip was absolutely marvelous! We drove through the beautiful countryside, visiting monastic sites, churches, Guinness lake... Desmond managed to cater to everyone's needs, appropriate length of hikes, relaxing pub atmosphere, followed by a tour of the main sites in Dublin. Desmond is extremely knowledgable, with a great sense of humour and he read our group well.
Andrew R
Andrew R
2022-03-20
Golf trip with Desmond Have used Des on two occasions. He’s the best. He’s easy to contact, shows up on time (early actually) will take you wherever you desire and guide you along the way. Nothing is too much trouble. Beautiful Mercedes’ sprinter van. Will use him for all my travel needs in Ireland
Brad Robinson
Brad Robinson
2022-08-03
Had the best time with Desmond Tours!!! Super nice guy, none of us got carsick on Ireland's twisty roads, learned a ton and loved the 24/7 personal professional experience. Wouldn't go to Ireland again without Desmond!
Alan Budney
Alan Budney
2022-07-25
Desmond and Luisa were excellent from the start - email and zoom call sealed the deal for me. Friendly, professional, clear, great and responsive communication. They set up our foursome -- 4 male golfers, all around 60 years, with an excellent, entertaining, and knowledgeable driver, Tony Crowe. Tony made every part of our trip more fun, and we had complete confidence in him meeting our schedule and needs -- flexible, easygoing, professional, etc. Overall, 5 stars for this outfit. Great set up (van and driver) for a golf trip!
Charlotte R
Charlotte R
2022-03-23
Brilliant tour guide - had an amazing trip in Ireland !
Andrew Reilly
Andrew Reilly
2022-03-20
Gene Ellison
Gene Ellison
2021-10-22
What a fantastic tour of Ireland we had with Desmond Tours ! This is the second time we have toured with “Des” but it won’t be our last … for sure ! Desmond and Luisa helped us decide which cities, attractions, activities and dinning experiences we wanted. From there, Desmond and Luisa made suggestions and once we agreed on where and what, they did the rest ! Being “Chauffeured” around in a brand new Mercedes-Benz vehicle was sweet ! We saw everything we wanted to see and Des made certain our reservations were in order and as a result we NEVER waited in line for anything ! COVID safety was a priority and Desmond made sure to keep us safe at all times. Des’ personality, education and sense of humor made our trip memorable ! This is an affordable way to see all of Ireland and custom design your trip ! I highly recommend engaging Desmond Tours for your next trip to The Emerald Isle !
Sarah Fry
Sarah Fry
2021-10-19
Book with Desmond Tours for a wonderful, fully customized Ireland experience! We spent two days with Desmond and we have some wonderful memories...and stories!! One day was spent around Cork and in Cobh (to include a visit to the Donkey Sanctuary which was EPIC). A few days later, Des picked us up again to explore the Kilkenny area. Despite some of the challenges caused by COVID, Des made sure that we saw and experienced many things on our list. His historical knowledge is fantastic and so insightful. I really appreciated his many stories, too. We laughed and laughed! We are already talking about a return visit and will definitely use Des again!!
Rich Sands
Rich Sands
2021-09-27
What a fantastic trip! Over two weeks in Ireland seeing the country and doing everything from climbing tall ocean cliffs, holding a baby lamb, sleeping in castles, and discovering the history, heritage, beauty, and of course the friendly people of Ireland first-hand. We couldn’t have done it without Des, and the amazing service offered by Desmond Tours. We are experienced and picky travelers, and have used all sorts of tour companies. Desmond Tours is the best tour company we've ever experienced. Along with another couple - our good friends - we planned a 16 day trip for 2020, but of course that was postponed due to COVID-19. A tough situation, but Desmond Tours was exceptionally accommodating. From the moment Des picked the four of us up at the Dublin Airport at 5:00am (!), and until he dropped us off 16 days later, safety was tops. He disinfected the coach nightly, supplied fresh masks upon demand, lined up everything in advance with no surprises, and helped my wife, who is less physically able, to be safe and enjoy every minute of the trip. Des is such a friendly, engaging, funny guy with a gift for bringing Ireland to life. Every minute with him was so relaxed and fun. We did a grand circle, from Dublin to Donegal to Galway, Killarney, and Kilkenny, staying 3-4 nights each place. Des took care of all the driving, routes, sights along the way, and day trips from our hotels. Each day was extraordinary and memorable. We were super comfortable in the Mercedes motor coach. Our pace was leisurely and relaxed, with plenty of rest, stops to eat and have a pint, and enjoy Ireland without the rush. It is hard to explain just how much better this sort of private tour experience is than group tours delivered by even the most exclusive large companies. We had the benefit of a private guide with decades of in-country experience, a deep knowledge and passion for Irish history, culture, and people, and a singular focus on delivering the trip of a lifetime. For a price similar to what we’ve paid for a high-end "all inclusive” tour in other places, we enjoyed a much more personalized and flexible experience. Really - whatever we wanted to see and do, Des made it happen. We chose our own hotels and food to suit our preferences exactly, with Des's guidance before and during the tour. Weather looks bad tomorrow? No problem - Des adjusted, planning something better for rain, and took us to our outdoor explorations the next day. When we wanted to go off the beaten path and see parts of Ireland most tourists never see, Des got us there and back in plenty of time to enjoy a great meal and a pint of Guinness. We totally recommend Desmond Tours. Whether for just a few days or a multi-week odyssey, if you want the best Irish holiday that money can buy - best value, best experience, fine-tuned to your wishes, most fun, Des is your ticket!
Shana Drake-Lavelle
Shana Drake-Lavelle
2021-08-19
Desmond Tours is THE way to see Ireland!! Desmond has the best recommendations for places to eat, places to see, and amazing stories along the way. He creates a really fun & welcoming environment. HIGHLY recommend 🇮🇪
Kelan Drake-Lavelle
Kelan Drake-Lavelle
2021-08-18
The best in Ireland! Gave us the trip of a lifetime. Great humor, unmatched knowledge and stories of every town or landmark we went to/passed by. Crafted a trip to meet the needs of all involved.
TELL US ABOUT YOUR DREAM TOUR


BOOK NOW BOOK NOW